The ecological profile is more comprehensive which gives equal coverage to the physical, biological, socio-economic, cultural and built environments.


Historical, Political & Cultural Background

The Municipality of Alamada was created pursuant to Republic Act 5645 passed by the Senate on May 20, 1969 and the House of Representative on May 22, 1969. Its name was adopted in memory and in honor of the late powerful ruler, Datu Amaybulyok Alamada. He was the leader who fought against foreign oppression and tyranny. The Datu was recognized as one of the fiery rulers by the Iranon and the Dalaman who were scattered throughout the Northern Part of the Municipalities of Pigcawayan, Libugan, Sultan Kudarat and in Kitacubong (now Poblacion) as the seat of his Kingdom.

Prior to its creation as a Municipality, the area was a pilot project of the late President Ramon Magsaysay. It was a resettlement area for HUKBALAHAP (Hukbong Bayan Laban sa Hapon) surenderees. It was a public land as declared by then President Elpidio Quirino on March 10, 1953 and was declared as a resettlement site under Proclamation No. 376. After its declaration as a resettlement area, President Quirino designated the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) to implement the “Land for the Landless Program’.

On January 1, 1954, the area was named Genio Edcor, pursuant to section 3 of General Order No. 409 GHQ, AFP, the name was in honor of the late M/SGT, Regino Genio who was ambushed in 1953 at Perido Edcor Farm in Angadunan, Isabela, by the Hukbong Magpapalaya ng Bayan sa Hapon. From January 1, 1954 to August 6, 1961, Genio Edcor was a political subdivision by the Municipality of Midsayap. Mr. Samson B. Buenafe, a bonafide settler of Genio Edcor, represented the are in Municipal Council of Midsayap.

When Libungan (as part of Midsayap) was created as a Municipality on August 7, 1961, Edcor became a barangay of Libungan. Three (3) settlers of Genio Edcor were representative to the Municipal Council of Libungan. After seven years, five (5) settlers of Genio Edcor were representatives of the Municipality of Libungan on January 30. 1961, these gentlemen, Edmundo Buenaflor, Dioscoro Jalandoni, Juan Manantan, Teodoro Esteban and Samson Buenafe, sponsored Resolution No. 6, series of 1967 creating Genio Edcor as a separate Municipality. The resolution was approved by the council and was forwarded to the Provincial Board of Cotabato. And after that the Govemor Datu Udtog Matalam returned the Municipality’s Resolution No. 6 and was amended by Resolution No. 25 dated 13 November 1967 proposing the creation of the Municipality of Alamada and Kitacubong as the seat of the municipal government.

On April 4. 1968, the Provincial Board of Cotabato approved Resolution No. 38 supporting Resolution No. 254 for the creation of the Municipality of Alamada. Resolution No. 38 was forwarded to the Congress for approval on May 20. 1969. The Senate and the House of Representative by the Sixth Congress of the Republic of the Philippines, passed Republic Act No. 5645 which finally created the Municipality of Alamada.

The first elected Municipal Mayor was Honorable Wenceslao Tabar Dela Cerna. He served the Municipality from 1969 to 1986 then 1987 to 1992. His term was interrupted by the nationwide reorganization in 1986. This was brought by the famous EDSA Revolution which installed Her Excellency President Corazon C. Aquino. On her first term, all incumbent leaders, especially those identified as Marcos supporters were replaced by the Officer-In-Charge. From March 1986 to November 1987, Honorable Jesus N. Sacdalan served the municipality as Officer-In-Charge, the election in 1988 brought back Honorable Wenceslao T. dela Cerna to office and served until 1992.

On the 1992 election dela Cerna opted to run for Vice Governor. Former Vice Mayor Patricio S. Señerez, Sr. who was elected as Mayor and served the municipality from 1992 to 2001 and former Vice Mayor Ernesto Margate Concepcion was elected as Mayor and served the municipality from 2001 to June 30, 2010. The former Vice Mayor Bartolome B. Lataza, Jr. was elected Mayor and served the Municipality from July 1, 2010 to June 30, 2013. And from July 1, 2013, Mrs. Virginia Cabañog Concepcion, wife of former Mayor and Board Member late Ernesto Margate Concepcion, assumed office as Municipal Mayor and her first term ended June 30, 2016.

On July 1, 2016, Dr. Noemia Demetillo-Bartolome, the wife of the 7th PNP Chief, PDG Nicanor Ancheta Bartolome (Ret.) assumed office as Municipal Mayor. Her campaign platform of Good Governance of Five (5) Ks- KAPAYAPAAN (Peace), KALIKASAN (Environment), KALUSUGAN (Health), KABUHAYAN (Livelihood). and KAUNLARAN (Progress) were given utmost priority in reaching the people with Serbisyong May Puso.

The past and incumbent mayors were committed to a massive infra projects in the different Barangays. Opening, rehabilitation and graveling of farm-to-market roads as their utmost priority, concreting of municipal streets, concreting of tire paths and additional construction of school facilities in various schools had been given impetus an equal importance. Tourism promotion in the area was also the primary concern to boost tourism industry in the locality so as to create employment to the locales.



In 2015 census, the population of Alamada, Cotabato was 64,596 people with a density of 82 inhabitants per square kilometers or 210 inhabitants per square mile. (Philippine Statistics Authority)

Year Population % Increase/Decrease (P.A.)
1970 14,813
1975 16,679 +2.41%
1980 20,205 +3.91%
1990 33,688 +5.25%
1995 38,949 +2.76%
2000 44,303 +2.80%
2007 52,165 +2.28%
2010 56.813 +3.15%
2015 64,596 +2.47%


Economic Profile

Alamada is basically agricultural as its land is cultivated for corn, upland rice, bananas, coconut, palm oil and rubber. Thus people’s activities are devoted to agriculture. A corn producing municipality, Livestock and poultry production is also another agricultural activities.


Possible Isolation Due To Future Establishment of Bangsamoro

During the 2001 Referendum for inclusion to the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao, two (2) out of twenty-eight (28) barangays of Carmen, Cotabato chose to be part of ARMM but were excluded because they were not connected to the main region of ARMM. From 2010-2016 Administration, the Bangsamoro ideal sprouted and a newly proposed region was in the making. According to the agreements signed by the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) and the Administration of Noynoy Aquino, Carmen will be included in Bangsamoro because of the two out of twenty-eight barangays that voted in favor of joining the Muslim region back in 2001. Unfortunately, Bangsamoro was not implemented before the term of Aquino ended. Despite this, the current administration aims to establish a Federal Government, where Bangsamoro will be realized into a State of the Philippines wherein Carmen will be included in Bangsamoro.

Plans to establish a new municipality in the South of Carmen so that the indigenous and Christians of central and northern part of Carmen will be retained in North Cotabato has yet to be confirmed. The idea arose because once the entire Municipality of Carmen is included in the Bangsamoro, the Province of Cotabato will be cut into half, leacing three towns ( Banisilan, Alamada and Libungan) at its west without connection to the center of North Cotabato, isolating these towns in the process.


Environment Profile

Vast and fertile land, forest and water sources are some of the locality’s natural resources. It has rivers and waterfalls that flow heading the lowland irrigating hectares of agricultural land. Its agricultural products are corn, coconut, rice, banana, carrot, Yukon gold potato, mango and other crops, mineral are also found in the areas such as manganese. The presence of wildlife like wild pig and deer (salading) are among the species freely graze and found in the forest.